• MAR 03 to APR 07
    Group Exhibition


    • Group Exhibition
    • Contemporary
    • Emerging Artists

    Dates and Opening hours

    MAR 03 to APR 07, 2013

    Vernissage: Opening Night 02.03.2013 // 18:00-21:00

    Event Location

    ARGOS Centre for art and media

    Werfstraat 13 rue du Chantier // 1000 Brussels

    View website


    • Angel Vergara
    • Boris Chouvellon
    • Géraldine Py
    • Gustav Metzger
    • Hans Op de Beeck
    • Jean-Gabriel Périot
    • Jean-Luc Moulène
    • Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige
    • Mladen Stilinovic
    • Pierre Leguillon

    See all artists


    How do artists view the role of work in our society? What part does work play in our lives? In the 'Bon Travail' exhibition ten artists question the position of the apparent opposite poles of ‘work’ and ‘non-work’ (or free time). With bittersweet humour they stand up for the right to be lazy. Their seemingly pointless but playful actions illustrate the fact that work can be utterly absurd, or show that compulsory work can be deployed as an instrument of political power that leads to subjection. Ranging from the spectacular to the intimate, the exhibition interprets labour as a (political) performance. The notion of ‘non-work’ is considered to be of equal worth, as a factor for freedom that contributes to the quantity and quality of both the product of work and of life itself. 'Bon Travail' presents a number of the works used in 'brouillon' in a completely different context: the ‘fixed’ layout of an exhibition.

    Works by Boris Chouvellon, Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige, Pierre Leguillon, Gustav Metzger, Jean-Luc Moulène, Hans Op de Beeck, Jean-Gabriel Périot, Mladen Stilinovi?, Roberto Verde & Geraldine Py, Angel Vergara Santiago.

    Curated by Ive Stevenheydens (Argos) in collaboration with Boris Charmatz and Martina Hochmuth (Musée de la danse).

    'Bon Travail' is a co-production of Argos, Kaaitheater & Musée de la danse.

    We thank : The Artists, Belgacom Art, Branka Stipan?i? ?, Gb Agency, Frac Champagne-Ardenne, Ana Janevski, Jennifer Tobias, David Senior / MoMa, Mihnea Mircan, Berno Odo Polzer, Walter Seidl, Georg Scho?llhammer And Hedwig Saxenhuber / Springerin, Team Muse?e de la danse, Eva Wittocx.

    Musée de la danse / Centre chorégraphique national de Rennes et de Bretagne - Direction : Boris Charmatz. Association subventionnée par le ministère de la Culture et de la Communication (Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles / Bretagne), la Ville de Rennes, le Conseil régional de Bretagne et le Conseil général d'Ille-et-Vilaine.

    Visitors opinion

    If you have visited this event, please share your opinion with us.

    For full information on our approach to users' comments on our site, please see our publishing policy.